Advise vs Advice

Today I give you two words that are closely connected and often confused.

Advise is a verb and it means to recommend a course of action or to give information.

Emma advised her class to use their workbooks to study for the test the following week.

I would advise you to hire a proofreader before you publish your book.

Advice is a noun and is the actual recommendation or guidance given to someone.

I could really use some advice right now.

Your advice was sound and really helped me on my way.

It is easy to confuse these words but you just need to remember that the noun is spelt with a c and the verb with an s. A proofreader or editor can check words like this for you to make sure you’ve used the correct spelling as it may not come up on a spell check.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started